Cybils Nonfiction Picture Book Shortlist

Happy 2011!

And with the New Year comes a big cheer as the 2010 Cybils shortlists are announced!

What are Cybils? The acronym stands for children’s and young adult bloggers literary awards. Bloggers who specialize in children’s and young adult books have developed the Cybils awards to highlight some of the best books published in the previous year. Back in September people nominated their favorite books by genre. Since then the Round I panel of judges read and blogged like crazy to whittle the nominations down to this shortlist of seven. And they are:

2010 Cybils Nonfiction Picture Book Finalists
(The titles are linked to take you to Amazon for more information)

 Pop!: The Invention of Bubble Gum by Meghan McCarthy (Simon and Shuster)
Bones by Steve Jenkins (Scholastic Press)
Henry Aaron's Dream by Matt Travares (Candlewick Press)
Sit-In: How Four Friends Stood Up by Sitting Down by Andrea Davis Pinkney (Little Brown Kids)
Skit-Scat Raggedy Cat: Ella Fitzgerald by Roxane Orgill (Candlewick Press)
The Extraordinary Mark Twain (According To Susy)
by Barbara Kerley (Scholastic Press)
Dinosaur Mountain: Digging into the Jurassic Age by Deborah Kogan Ray

(Farrar Straus Giroux)

What an awesome list!

A big thanks to the Round I judges for all their hard work:
Doret Canton, Happy Nappy Bookseller
Shirley Duke, Simply Science
Amanda Goldfuss, ACPL Mock Sibert
Abby Johnson, Abby (the) Librarian
Jone MacCulloch (category organizer)
Karen Terlecky, Literate Lives
Carol Wilcox, Carol’s Corner

And now it is time for the Round II judges (including me) to narrow the list to one winner. Looks like it is going to be quite a task.

Be sure to stop by the Cybils website and check out the shortlists for all the other categories.